Last Updated

1/13/2022 5:09:06 PM

Sustainable Agriculture Technology, Associate in Applied Science

Curriculum Code: HRT.SAG.AAS (C201E)

(Total Program Credits: 60)

Sustainable Agriculture Technology curriculum is designed to provide students the skills necessary to manage an environmentally sound and sustainable urban food production system. Graduates are qualified for numerous positions associated with sustainable agriculture including horticulture, nursery operations, agricultural education and managing food production.

Program Learning Outcomes

Upon successful completion of the Associate in Applied Science Degree in Sustainable Agriculture Technology program, the graduate will be able to:

  • design a sustainable urban food production system;
  • analyze social and political framework of sustainable food of systems;
  • prepare solutions to address environmental issues caused by landscape practices; and
  • develop a power point which demonstrates a model landscape management practices to provide a healthier environment.

(Fall 2021)

Placement Measures

Program Map for Full-Time Students

Semester One: Fall

Course NumberTitleCredits
HRT 127Entomology: Insects, People and Plants

3

HRT 128Plant Pathology

3

RHT 101Freshman Rhetoric & Composition I #

3

SAT 100Principles of Agroecology

3

SAT 105Urban Agriculture Issues

3

Total Credit Hours:15

Note: Grade of “C” or higher is an IAI requirement for RHT 101 and RHT 102.

Semester Two: Spring

Course NumberTitleCredits
HRT 125Plants and Society

4

HRT 126Plant Propagation/Greenhouse Operations

3

HRT 135Soils and Fertilizers

3

SAT 130Sustainable Plant Health Care

3

SPE 101Principles of Effective Speaking #

3

Total Credit Hours:16

HRT 125 meets the Mathematics and/or Science general education requirement.

Note: Grade of ‘C’ or high is an IAI requirement for RHT 101 and RHT 102. Students must complete RHT 101, with SPE 101, or RHT 101 with RHT 102. Students intending to transfer are encouraged to complete all three courses: RHT 101, RHT 102 and SPE 101 to meet university requirements.

Semester Three: Summer

Course NumberTitleCredits
HRT 265Vegetable and Herb Gardening

3

Total Credit Hours:3

Semester Four: Fall

Course NumberTitleCredits
BIS 105Environmental Biology

4

ECO 103Microeconomics

3

HRT 154Horticulture Internship #

3

 

HUM 104Humanities Through the Arts

3

OR

HUM 165Introduction to the Latino and Latin American Studies

3

Total Credit Hours:13

Semester Five: Spring

Course NumberTitleCredits
SAT 110Natural Resource Management (Soils and Water)

3

SAT 140Sustainable Organic Plants

4

SAT 210Sustainable Plant Production for Human Nutrition

3

SAT 220Urban Food Production Systems

3

See Associate in Applied Science Graduation Requirements by discipline: https://triton.smartcatalogiq.com/?sc_itemid=%7B8364F311-8FDB-44CC-8621-714E84FC743A%7D&sc_mode=preview&sc_lang=en

See HRT course descriptions; SAT course descriptions.

Department Chairperson: Christopher Clem, Email: christopherclem@triton.edu, Cell: (224) 805-3382
Assistant, Special Projects: Sarah Duffy, Email: sarahduffy@triton.edu

Adjunct Faculty: Edward Del Beccaro, Email: edwarddelbeccaro@triton.edu; and David Coulter, Email: davidcoulter@triton.edu; Susan Kauffman, Email: susankauffman@triton.edu; Mitchell Murdock, Email: mitchellmurdock@triton.edu; Mark Omi, Email: Markomi@triton.edu; Margarita Poromanska, Email: margaritaporomanska@triton.edu; Will Spiegelberg, Email: williamspiegelberg@triton.edu; Koch Unni, Email: kochunni@triton.edu

Room: R-205
Phone: (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3550