Pesticide Applicator Certificate

Curriculum HRT.PAA.CERT (C401G)

(Total Program Credits: 6)

Designed for learners seeking qualification for employment as a pesticide applicator in the Horticulture and Landscape industries and prepares them for the Illinois Department of Agriculture Commercial Pesticide Applicator Exam. The Pest Applicator Certificate is stackable into other Horticulture degrees and certificates allowing the opportunity to continue education in the discipline.

 PROGRAM LEARNING OUTCOMES:

Upon successful completion of the Pesticide Applicator Certificate program, the graduate will be able to:

  • describe life cycles and hosts of insects;
  • identify the types of insect prevention and controls, including sustainable practices;
  • describe the various types of pesticides;
  • prepare various types of pesticides;
  • discuss the environmental impact of pesticides;
  • diagnose plant problems; and
  • manage pathogenic organisms with various means, including Integrated Pest Management.

(Fall 2021)

Semester One: Fall

Course NumberTitleCredits
HRT 127Entomology: Insects, People and Plants

3 credits

HRT 128Plant Pathology

3 credits

Total Credit Hours:6
See HRT course descriptions.

Department Coordinator: Christopher Clem, Email: christopherclem@triton.edu, Cell: (224) 805-3382
Assistant Coordinator, Special Projects: Sarah Duffy, Email: sarahduffy@triton.edu

Adjunct Faculty: Edward Del Beccaro, Email: edwarddelbeccaro@triton.edu; and David Coulter, Email: davidcoulter@triton.edu; Susan Kauffman, Email: susankauffman@triton.edu; Mitchell Murdock, Email: mitchellmurdock@triton.edu; Mark Omi, Email: Markomi@triton.edu; Margarita Poromanska, Email: margaritaporomanska@triton.edu; Will Spiegelberg, Email: williamspiegelberg@triton.edu; Koch Unni, Email: kochunni@triton.edu

Room: R-205
Phone:
(708) 456-0300, Ext. 3550