Horticulture/Grounds Maintenance Certificate

Curriculum HRT.GRM.CERT (C401C)

(Total Program Credits: 30)

Designed to facilitate the learner into a career in grounds maintenance. Includes golf course, sports turf and commercial turf maintenance properties.

PROGRAM LEARNING OUTCOMES:

At the successful completion of the Horticulture/Ground Maintenance Certificate, the graduate will be able to:

  • describe the basic divisions of ground maintenance;
  • demonstrate the proper use of equipment;
  • demonstrate the proper safety rules used in ground maintenance;
  • identify the cultural requirements of plants;
  • integrate appropriate maintenance practices in the Botanic Garden; and
  • develop a functional plan for a horticulture business.

(Fall 2021)

Semester One: Fall

Course NumberTitleCredits
HRT 100Introduction to Horticulture

4 credits

HRT 125Plants and Society

4 credits

HRT 127Entomology: Insects, People and Plants

3 credits

HRT 128Plant Pathology

3 credits

Total Credit Hours:14

Semester Two: Spring

Course NumberTitleCredits
HRT 126Plant Propagation/Greenhouse Operations

3 credits

HRT 135Soils and Fertilizers

3 credits

HRT 140Landscape Construction and Maintenance

4 credits

 

HRT 225Evergreens, Vines, Groundcovers

3 credits

OR

HRT 261Herbaceous Ornamental Plants

3 credits

 

HRT 285Turf and Lawn Management

3 credits

Total Credit Hours:16

Total Credit Hours: 30

See HRT course descriptions.

Department Coordinator: Christopher Clem, Email: christopherclem@triton.edu, Cell: (224) 805-3382
Assistant Coordinator, Special Projects: Sarah Duffy, Email: sarahduffy@triton.edu

Adjunct Faculty: Edward Del Beccaro, Email: edwarddelbeccaro@triton.edu; and David Coulter, Email: davidcoulter@triton.edu; Susan Kauffman, Email: susankauffman@triton.edu; Mitchell Murdock, Email: mitchellmurdock@triton.edu; Mark Omi, Email: Markomi@triton.edu; Margarita Poromanska, Email: margaritaporomanska@triton.edu; Will Spiegelberg, Email: williamspiegelberg@triton.edu; Koch Unni, Email: kochunni@triton.edu

Room: R-205

Phone: (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3550